top of page

7 Items You'll Want to Bring With You on Your Cruise

Hi, my name is Kate, and I'm addicted to cruises. Having been on 2 cruises now, I can without a doubt say I'm hooked. There's just something about being out in the ocean that is so calming. If you're gearing up for your first cruise or you're a seasoned professional, you'll definitely want to make sure you're bringing these 7 items with you on your travels!

Outlet power strip. Your cabin will only contain one outlet and since you're probably traveling with another person, that won't be enough for the two of you. While you may not be utilizing your phone as much, you'll still want to keep it charged. Plus, you'll probably bring a digital camera, a hair straightener, etc. An outlet power strip is cheap and makes a huge difference when trying to charge or use multiple devices.

Dramamine. Even if you're not one that typically gets motion sickness, it's still a good idea to have something just in case. On my first cruise, I experienced pretty bad motion sickness, but on my second cruise, I was completely fine. I find that the Non-Drowsy Dramamine with Natural Ginger works best for me. I didn't feel tired at all and the ginger really soothed my stomach. Even if you don't end up needing it, you might be traveling with someone that does!

Travel Cup. This is important if you aren't doing a drink package. Bringing an insulated cup or mug with you allows you to keep your drinks hot or cold, regardless of where you are. Plus, it's always nice to have a cute cup you love with you!

Hand Sanitizer and Antibacterial Wipes. The cruise ship will no doubt have hand sanitizer stations set up throughout the ship, but I always like to have one on me for quick use anywhere. There are so many germs lingering on a cruise ship (think handrails and elevator buttons), so it's best to have hand sanitizer on deck at all times. Antibacterial wipes are also nice to have so you can clean down items you'll use in your room.

Ziplock bags. I brought a couple of these with me to keep my phone and other small valuables protected. Since you're constantly carrying around damp towels or clothes, you won't have to worry about your items getting wet.

Lanyard. A lanyard makes carrying around your room key so much easier because it allows it to be physically on your body. Since you won't have a need for a purse (since your room key is used to charge items), a lanyard is a good way to hold the one item you do need at all times. You'll pay more for one if you purchase it onboard and they aren't as cute, so purchasing one beforehand is key.

Copies of your passport. I always bring a color copy of mine and my husband's passport just in case. I keep one copy in the room and one in my bag. It might be me being paranoid, but it makes me feel so much better knowing I have copies of this important document with me.

What items did you find really helpful on your last cruise? Let me know in the comments below! And if you want to learn more about my recent experience with Royal Caribbean, click here!

bottom of page