top of page

Georgia on My Mind

After Christmas, I traveled with my family to Smryna, Georgia for a little relaxation after the busy holiday season. I love the hustle and bustle of downtown Atlanta, but after the holidays I just wanted to be in an area that wasn't so crazy. Smryna is located 15 minutes outside of Atlanta and a really great area to stay when you're trying to escape the city life.

Airbnb is one of my favorite sites to utilize for trips like this. It makes the stay so much more personal and you don't feel like you're stuck in your hotel. I stumbled upon Kurt and Sheila's home and immediately knew I wanted to book their cozy, modern home. I'm so glad I went with my gut on this rental because it did not disappoint! The home was a recently renovated townhouse and was filled with everything that you might need. It was located in a safe neighborhood and the checking in/out process was so simple. It was also conveniently located right near the interstate - another added bonus! If you're looking to book through Airbnb, join with my link and you'll get up to $55 off your first trip with Airbnb!

During our mini vacation, we decided to check out the Chick-Fil-A Backstage Tour. If you're a Chick-Fil-A fan (I mean, who isn't?), you have to check out the home office and do the tour. We decided to do The Deluxe, which was a two-hour tour around the home office and other areas of the campus. It was seriously amazing and so worth it. I learned so much about Chick-Fil-A and it was amazing to see how much dedication and pride they put into their company. It's also located just outside of Atlanta, so you won't have to travel very far.

Oakland Cemetery was another stop on our list, which is Atlanta's oldest public park and resting place. Honestly, I'm not one for cemeteries, but the 48 acres of land was really interesting and full of history. The first African American Mayor of Atlanta was buried here along with the Margaret Mitchell, the author of Gone with the Wind. The cemetery is located just a mile from downtown, so it's an easy trip if you're already in the area.

There is definitely a lot of history throughout Atlanta. We made our way over to Martin Luther King Jr.'s birth home, but unfortunately, due to the government shutdown, we were unable to go inside since it was closed. However, we were still able to see the outside and surrounding areas, which was still really cool and very informative.

And of course, no trip to Atlanta would be complete without a stop at The Varsity. Celebrating their 90th year this year, this family-owned and operated restaurant is a downtown staple and also the world's largest drive-in. There are 7 locations, but the downtown location is definitely my favorite. They've got all your fast food favorites like burgers, hot dogs, sandwiches, onion rings, french fries and so much more.

In all, it was a wonderful trip and I wouldn't mind visiting Smryna again. Have you stayed here before? Where are some of your Atlanta favorites? Let me know in the comments below!

bottom of page