top of page

Charlottesville & 5th Street Station

Earlier this week, I spent a few days visiting Charlottesville, Virginia for work. Charlottesville is embedded with history and houses a dozen historic attractions like the Monticello, Historic Court Square and the Grounds of the University of Virginia. The city is very much still alive with culture, which can be seen in the various charming boutiques and antique stores across town.

I stayed at the Residence Inn in Downtown Charlottesville, which was in the heart of downtown and about a 5-minute drive to 5th Street Station. The hotel had more than I needed for a quick visit, but would be an excellent choice for a longer stay. I booked a studio suite, which immediately exceeded my expectations because of how large it was for a studio. The hotel room opened into the kitchen, which had a fridge, dishwasher, microwave, sink and dining area. It then made its way into what I would call the living room, which had a couch that reminded me of a sectional (it also turned into a sofa bed) and an office area complete with a desk. The next room was the bedroom, which had a king bed and a smart television. Finally, there was a small room in between the bedroom and bathroom, which had a mirror and dresser built into the wall. The hotel itself featured a complimentary airport shuttle to CHO, as well as a complimentary breakfast.

One thing I enjoyed about this hotel was how close it was to 5th Street Station. The shopping district is located near the Interstate 64 ramp and as I mentioned, conveniently located to downtown. With anchor stores like Wegmans, Panera Bread and Dick's Sporting Goods, it's the perfect location for dining, shopping, daily errands or just hanging out with a friend. I love when shopping centers think outside of the box and create areas that combine different aspects of your day. 5th Street Station is definitely a one-stop shop where you can get everything done in one area.

I loved how open the center is and how it has so many options for everyone. You can have the ultimate family, date, shopping or dining experience here. The Yard is a beautiful outdoor courtyard with string lights that connects restaurants like Chimm Thai Southeast Asian, Extreme Pizza, and the coming soon Basil. The center also has an Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, a movie theater that brings delicious meals, tasty local beers and cold drinks right to your seat.

After a long day of shopping in the center, I decided to dine at Timberwood Tap House. They are located right in the center of 5th Street Station and the outdoor fire pits immediately caught my eye for those chilly nights in Charlottesville. The restaurant features an American menu with items made from scratch in-house daily, 32 rotating craft beer taps, patio seating and great service. My order included the house margarita, general tso's cauliflower and fish tacos. The food came out quickly and did not disappoint. And on that busy Thursday night, I could definitely tell it's a local favorite!

Charlottesville was a wonderful spot to visit on such a short time crunch and I enjoyed my time at 5th Street Station. I'm definitely planning my next trip with a little more time so that I can really enjoy C'Ville and all it has to offer!

bottom of page